Deadlines to Make Personal Injury Claims Statute of Limitations in Hawaii
- The deadline for filing a claim in court is known as the Statute of Limitations. These differ from state to state. The deadlines discussed here are those applicable under HAWAII law. After the expiration of this time period, the claim usually will be lost regardless of its merits. There are various exceptions to the deadlines (minority, disability, incompetency, etc.), so it may still be worth evaluating a claim even after the deadline has expired. PLEASE NOTE THAT BECAUSE OF THESE DEADLINES, YOU MUST ACT PROMPTLY on any claims which you believe you may wish to pursue.
Claims against the Counties, including the City and County of Honolulu Hawaii
- At one time it was believed that claims for injuries based upon action or inaction of a County, including the City and County of Honolulu, had to be made within 6 months of the date of the accident. The Hawai’i Supreme Court has apparently struck down that requirement for now. It is not known if there may be another composition of that court which will revive that deadline. To be cautious it is suggested that such claims should be filed with the county in question within such time regardless of the type of accident involved.
Claims against the State Hawaii
- Claims for injuries based upon action or inaction of the State of Hawaii must generally be filed in court no later than two years from the date of the accident regardless of the type of accident involved. This deadline for the State apparently overrides most other deadlines which may provide a longer time period.
Motor vehicle accidents Hawaii
- Claims for injuries arising out of a motor vehicle accident must generally be filed in court no later than two years from the date of the accident or two years from the date of the last no fault, worker’s compensation or public assistance benefit payment related to the accident, if such payments are made.
Falls from elevation, dangerous conditions and other landowner liability claims – Hawaii
- Claims arising out of slip & fall, trip & fall and other accidents resulting from dangerous conditions on property must generally be filed in court within two years of the date of the accident or they will probably be lost under the applicable statute of limitations.
- Other claims have deadlines which run from 30 days (to file certain unlawful suspension, discharge or discrimination claims) to 20 years (for certain real property actions). Individualized advice is required as to the Statute of Limitations applicable to any given claim, since each may have special characteristics which control.
- Our office charges on a contingency fee basis in accident cases which we accept. There is no charge for an initial consultation to evaluate your case. E-mail us or call us at 1-808-671-7600 if you have any more questions.